I wish I could take credit for this recipe. I really do. But in reality, I have the wonderful blog Sally’s Baking Addiction to thank and I just had to make them. For the full recipe, instructions, etc. see here: http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2012/05/14/sky-high-apple-pie-muffins/

What I can take credit for was the epic apple-picking adventure including climbing an apple tree in a dress and getting attacked by a spider who thought it was his apple. I won. Muffins contain no spiders.

So anyway, I’ll just show you how my beauties came out and record my slightly tweaked recipe for ease of access. The raisins are an addition I think works fantastically. I made me 18 muffins but next time I think 12 will do (or I’ll get super fat) so I’ve scaled the recipe down to make 12:

Ingredients:

250g plain flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

150ml milk

85g brown sugar

30ml yoghurt (I used strawberry cos it was all we had)

30ml applesauce (I made my own, if it is from the store use unsweetened or reduce sugar)

2 large eggs

21/2 tsp baking powder

2-3 apples, chopped

handful of raisins (optional)

pinch of salt

Streusel topping:

50g brown sugar

4 tbsp flour

4tbsp oats

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 or 2 tbsp butter

Bake at 180 degrees for 20-25 minutes

Sally’s blog has a lot of tips for the highest, prettiest muffins you could ever wish for. I followed her advice and mine were perfect! Take a look.

The only thing I had to tweak was the streusel – I made more and decreased the butter cos when I followed the instructions, I just got butter city. Tweak it to get a consistency which makes you happy.

